Irthlingborough Town Council

"Working hard for the town of Irthlingborough"

Parson's Green

Clerk: Mrs Angie Daly
Council Offices, Station Road
Northamptonshire NN9 5SN

Tel: 01933 650866

Who we are & what we do

Irthlingborough Town Council consists of 12 elected members who serve for a four-year term, with the Town divided into 2 wards, John Pyel and Waterloo. Town Council meetings are held on the second Tuesday of each month (with the exception of August) either at the Day Centre in College Street or the Community Centre in Fettledine Road. The attendance of members of the public is welcomed, there is a 15 minute allocation at the beginning of the meeting where members of the public can talk for 3 minutes each about any item that is on the Agenda. Please check the Town or Community Centre noticeboard to ensure the item you wish to talk about is on the Agenda. To have an item put on to the Agenda please email the Clerk at the Council Offices by the last day of the month prior to the meeting date.

The Councillors also meet for Committees and Working Parties, looking at specific issues to make recommendations to the Full Town Council on the best way forward. More information on the Committees and Working Parties can be found in the section below. Details of meeting dates, agendas and minutes can be found in the Council Meetings section of the website.

Councillors are all volunteers and are elected for a four year term, the same as the other tiers of local government. The Town Council is non-political and is dedicated to serving only the best interests of the town. Each year at the May meeting, a Mayor and Deputy Mayor are elected.

You can see from viewing the information on the services the Council offers the breadth of areas a Councillor has to consider in undertaking this interesting and sometimes demanding role. If you live in the parish of Irthlingborough and would like to consider service to the community as a Councillor, please contact the Town Clerk or any one of the Councillors for further information.

Mayor of Irthlingborough

The Mayor is elected yearly by the Town Councillors at the Annual Meeting held in May and is a non-political post. Councillor Adrian Winkle was elected to serve as Mayor for the Civic Year 2019/20.

The primary duty of the Mayor is to chair meetings of the Full Council. A Mayor chairing at any meeting of the Council will have a second or casting vote. The Mayor's decision on a point of order shall be final. It is the duty of the Mayor to ensure that the Council meetings are conducted in a seemly manner and in accordance with the procedures laid down in the Council's Standing Orders.

The Mayor takes the lead in all Civic duties, attending functions on behalf of the Town and receives a number of requests each year to support local organisations, charities and activities.


Our councillors are all elected, if you would like to become a councillor or find out more about what they do then please click here.


Our committees have specific tasks and can have delegated powers.

Our Staff

Town Clerk

Angie Daly

Council Office,
Station Road,
01933 650866

Hanneke Soans

Assistant Clerk/Funding Officer

Paul Smith

Finance Officer

Kay Simmons

Admin Assistant

Gaynor Read

Parks Keeper

Kyley Robertson

Caretaker - Crow Hill Community Centre